My Office Computer

Posted on March 25, 2009

1


It is going to be interesting to list down my office computer specification and software installed in it for future reference. My current office computer specification:

  • HP d530 CMT
  • Pentium4 2.66Ghz
  • RAM 1024MB
  • HDD 250GB 7200rpm PATA
  • NVIDIA Quadro FX 3000 512MB RAM
  • Two HP L1940T LCD monitor

These following software are installed in my office computer:

  • Windows Vista Enterprise Edition ($$)
  • Office 2007 Enterprise Edition ($$)
  • FileZilla FTP Client (FREE)
    To transfer my files into servers.
  • PuTTY (FREE)
    To connect into servers through SSH/TELNET/RS232 COM.
  • Paint.NET (FREE)
    To modify some images, well, basically this one is for fun only. It is lighter compare to Adobe Photoshop provided by my office.
  • Mozilla Firefox (FREE)
    To browse internet safely, I don’t really trust Microsoft Internet Explorer, sorry…
  • CutePDF (FREE)
    To write PDF files, it is free and lighter compare to Adobe Acrobat Professional provided by my office.
  • Microsoft Office Communicator 2007 (FREE)
    To communicate with my peers and colleagues all around the world. I personally feel that this one is MUCH better compare to Windows Live Messenger.
  • Tortoise SVN (FREE)
    To access my office SVN server.
  • Navicat Lite 8.0 for MySQL (FREE)
    To access my local MySQL server, allowing me a better view over my SQL tables.
  • Microsoft Visual Studion 2008 Team Suite Edition ($$)
    To develop software, of course…
  • Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition (FREE)
    I don’t know where this software came from, but it is there.
  • MySQL 5 (FREE)
    To store my test and development tables.
  • DAEMON tools (FREE)
    To mount *.iso images.
  • Microsoft IIS (FREE)
    To do whatever related to web and FTP servers.

Wow! I just realized that I saved a lot of company’s money as I only use FREE software in my office computer. But I don’t think my company really appreciates and cares about it.

Posted in: MyWay